Doing it All

IMG_20180428_191019.jpg

Do you ever feel the excitement of being over ambitious, only to have it bite you in the butt later on? A garden can most definitely do this to you.

In the winter, when the ground was quiet and the world was white, we planned and planned, went over every detail, found space for everything we wanted to do. We used the wonderful GrowVeg to create a massive garden on the computer and it was beautiful! Now, it’s almost July things are growing and things are also not growing and the list of forgotten things is long. Beds were mixed up in the rush to plant seeds, things that were started, died on the deck in the May +30 degree heat, and we had a whole 2 garden beds demolished by bugs no matter how hard we tried to beat them. But when I turned to the hubs and said with a sigh “Well, you can’t do it all I guess” we both signed and agreed, this is okay.

DSCF9215.JPGIt’s disappointing, but also relieving to utter those words. You truly can’t do it all. Over the past year we’ve been learning to live slow and simple and the garden should be no different. So we didn’t get to plant sunflowers this year because we just plain forgot, chalk that up to two toddlers running amuck and not enough hours in a day to get it all done. We do need to sleep I suppose. We will miss out on some favourites, but it will all be okay and we can plan for them again next year.

It’s still inspiring and uplifting to look around and see the things that are working out. The garden is no easy job, we knew that but maybe truly didn’t understand the scale of it with two small kiddos, and we needed to reframe the plan from time to time. I know there will absolutely be plentiful harvest in the coming weeks, and that is so exciting.

And speaking on you can’t do it all, well as you can tell this blogs posts are VERY few and far between, so I’ve sat with my thoughts about it and I want to do it so badly, I want to have the time (and brain power) to craft perfect posts about interesting topics to share with you. Well, that’s clearly not happening, but this isn’t a sad story! I want to continue to post on here, so like the garden plan, it’s time to reframe.

I follow a wonderful blogger, homesteader, and fellow Instagramer, Ross Roost, and I absolutely love her Week’s Peepin. (not to mention her blog and podcast are also my faves!) This is what I’m going to try to adopt, for now, until the posts roll into my head more often, or I feel like I have time to edit my backlog of posts already written. Just a weekly “what’s going on” post. A few photos, maybe a story or two, and just to keep you in the loop on our backyard farm. With rabbits, and chickens, and plants (oh my) life is busy, but writing about it is too much fun to give up.

I hope you’ll enjoy some (hopefully) more frequent posts about life here, if you want to keep up just pop onto that subscribe button and you’ll get the post via email, even easier! But I know we all get a ton of emails, so I hope if that’s not for you, you just check back when you can.  

Leave a comment